Introduction

“Vulnerability is the core of all emotions and feelings. To feel is to be vulnerable. To believe vulnerability is weakness is to believe that feeling is a weakness. To foreclose on our emotional life out of a fear that the costs will be too high is to walk away from the very thing that gives purpose and meaning to living.”  (p.33) – Daring Greatly by Brene Brown

My goal is to become alive – to be happy with no strings attached. I think we all want that. We all want to live without the heavy weights of the world on our shoulders. In one sense or another, we all have wanted to sit on top of a mountain, with only our thoughts, and just breathe a huge sigh of relief to finally have no one or nothing to answer to. If I could be known for one thing upon my death, it would be to have brought happiness back into this world. I want to teach people how to be happy again – through experiencing the simplicities again.

Because of this, I really started thinking about what makes me come alive – when do I feel most like “myself”: kayaking, paddle boarding, watching a sunrise or sunset, sports performance boot camp, making yummy, organic food, drinking tea, watching my puppy play, making my friends laugh, doing relaxation yoga, talking to my therapist, talking about my hopes, dreams and aspirations, going on adventures with my boyfriend and finding empowerment through my work.

In order to figure out my next steps in my career journey, I realized that I needed to figure out more about myself: what makes me tick? For this reason, I started reading transformative books that helped guide me into knowing myself better. I have held many conversations about what these books have already taught me and so, I have started this blog to dispel the idea that life is easy and simple and if you work hard enough, all of your aches, pains and questions go away. In reality, I have found that seemingly the simplest questions are weirdly the hardest things to attack. With this being said, I promise to be vulnerable, transparent, honest and open with you about every thought and action I take as I go through this learning process. I promise to tell you about the powerful, promising ups but also about the devastating, treacherous downs. I promise to be on this journey with you, with an open heart. Thank you so much for joining me during this time of beautiful realizations that hopefully will change both of our lives.

Leave a Reply

